Common Core Guided Reading Strategies Unit


In Stock

Best Value! This 150 page, Hazel Learns to Read: Common Core Guided Reading Strategies Unit includes a series of 10 research-based decoding and comprehension lessons that build crucial literacy skills, provide easy differentiation opportunities, and promote active engagement.

Each lesson includes a strategy-specific read-aloud, guided reading lesson along with independent center and homework suggestions.

This unit can be used in grades K-3 with a variety of populations: general education, special education, intervention and ELL. Teachers can customize the lessons based on student skill and background knowledge. Some lessons may take several days to cover and may need to be reviewed and revisited as needed. Other lessons may be skipped if students are already proficient with a specific strategy.

Included Materials
-Hazel Learns to Read book
-10 detailed lessons, including read-aloud suggestions, center activities and active engagement strategies
-Detailed suggestions for use pages with photos and work samples
-30+ graphic organizers
-Reading strategy posters and bulletin board components
-Common Core Standard alignment chart for grades K-3
-Common Core Standard Essential Questions
-Reading strategy bookmarks
-Active Engagement Strategies
-Reading Reward Chart
-Reading Fluency and Retelling Rubrics

Hazel Learns to Read is a charming book about Hazel the owl, a struggling reader, who stumbles upon a magical tree in the forest. Out of the tree appear ten engaging and colorful woodland animals that each introduce a research-based common core reading strategy. There are 5 decoding strategies and 5 comprehension strategies:
-Pointing Porcupine
-Detecting Deer

150 pages


There are no reviews yet, would you like to submit yours?

Be the first to review “Common Core Guided Reading Strategies Unit”